Northwestern

William H. Pearce, MD, Vascular Surgery Student Research Award

Division of Vascular Surgery | Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine 676 N. St. Clair St., Suite. 650, Chicago, IL 60611 | Tel: (312) 926-7775

Through the generous support of The Joseph B. & Marjorie M. Lanterman Endowed Research and Education Fund in the Division of Vascular Surgery at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, a 12-month mentored research experience is being offered for undergraduate and medical students to perform clinical or basic science research.

This award is named after William H. Pearce, MD, a dedicated and beloved vascular surgeon, scientist, and educator in the Division of Vascular Surgery at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. His investigative interests ranged broadly from cell and molecular mechanisms of aneurysm formation to gene and stem cell therapy for critical limb ischemia to clinical outcomes of interventional procedures. He served as Program Director of the Vascular Surgery Fellowship (1994-2005) and as Chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery (1998-2010). In 2009, he established the NIH-funded Vascular Surgery Scientist Training Program with the goals of engaging surgery trainees in discovery-based experiences and training the next generation of vascular surgeon-scientists. As further recognition of his international renown, he was named president of the American Association for Vascular Surgery (2001-2002) and Chairman of the American Vascular Association (2004-2010). In 2014, he was elected to the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine Teaching Hall of Fame.

The goal of this program is to encourage the development of future surgeon-scientists by immersing awardees in intensive research experiences at an early yet critical time in their professional development. Awardees will perform their research projects under the guidance of a faculty mentor selected from vascular and/or cardiovascular researchers at Northwestern University. They will receive close faculty mentorship, integration with like-minded peers, and exposure to career development activities. The awardee will be required to present their findings at a national or regional meeting and at the Department of Surgery Research Conference.

Applications are due by March 1, 2024. Awards will be given based on candidates' interest, commitment, and demonstrated ability. There will be one awardee per year.

This award is a one-year commitment of full-time research (35-40 hours per week). A stipend of \$30,000 will be provided to the awardee in equal installments after 6 months and 12 months, given that the trainee is in good standing and has completed the requirements stated above.

Program Director:

Mark Eskandari, MD System Chief and Program Director, Division of Vascular Surgery The James S. T. Yao, MD, PhD, Professor of Vascular Surgery

Program Coordinator:

Marsha Blunt Email: marsha.blunt@nm.org Telephone: 312-926-7775